Phoenix Self-Reporting for Criminal Conduct Lawyers
Don’t Jeopardize Your Career by Making the Wrong Move
Being arrested and charged with a crime is traumatizing enough — no one wants to have to announce that they have been charged with a crime.
As a registered nurse or other licensed health care professional, however, there are regulations requiring self-reporting of many criminal charges and/or convictions. It is important to understand exactly when you are required to self-report, and what the ramifications could be of both reporting criminal charges and failing to do so. Whether you’ve just been arrested and are contemplating your options for informing your board or are preparing for what’s next now that you have reported, Weiler Law PLLC is here to give you experienced legal advice and aggressive representation throughout the process.
We can begin preparing a game plan to protect your career as soon as you’re formally charged with a crime.
Call (480) 418-7878 to speak with a lawyer who can evaluate how misdemeanor or felony criminal charges might affect your professional license.
When Do I Have to Report an Arrest or Criminal Charge?
The Arizona State Board of Nursing requires self-reporting only for filed criminal charges; simply being arrested does not trigger a self-reporting requirement.
If you are charged with any felony, you must report the charges to the board within 10 business days after the charges are filed. Failing to do so could result in additional administrative discipline if and when the board does learn of the charges from another source.
By contrast, not all misdemeanor charges have to be self-reported. The board has identified several types of misdemeanor charges it believes require disclosure within 10 business days; these include:
- Drug/alcohol-related offenses, such as DUI, illegal possession, and public intoxication
- Sex offenses, including rape, sexual abuse, possession of child pornography, and solicitation
- Assault-related offenses, including domestic violence, violating an order of protection, and illegal firearm possession
- Property crimes, including larceny, shoplifting, embezzlement, fraud, and identity theft
There are many other crimes for which self-reporting within 10 days is required. To learn if you must disclose your charges to the board and to get help with all aspects of any administrative investigation, contact Weiler Law PLLC now.
Call our main offices at (480) 418-7878 or send us a message to speak with an attorney. We’re ready to help.
"If I ever have an employment law dispute like retaliation, I will contact them again."Kevin W.
"Everyone who worked with James pertaining to my case was AMAZING as well."Saquitta H.
We've Changed Our Name!Read More
Whistleblower Protections for NursesRead More
Nurse-to-Patient Ratio in ArizonaRead More
What Are Arizona’s Time Off for Voting Laws?Read More
How Do I Collect Unemployment Benefits in Arizona?Read More
Examples of Employment Religious DiscriminationRead More
Client Prevails in Race Discrimination and Retaliation LawsuitRead More
What Is Age Discrimination?Read More
Personalized.We understand that each of our client's cases is unique and make sure to tailor our services to meet their individual goals.
Efficient.We aim to resolve our clients' legal disputes in an efficient and effective manner by minimizing cost and time as much as possible.
Results Oriented.We are determined to fight for your case and continue to uphold our track record of success.
Over 14 years of litigation experience.